Comparison

The best breast milk tracking apps, compared on what you can check

Most lists of breast milk apps compare feelings. This one compares nine things you can check yourself in an App Store listing, and where we could not find a fact, the cell says so instead of guessing. We make one of the apps on the list, which is exactly why the rest of the page is only facts with a date on them.

We make Milkloft, so we are biased and we say so. Everything below is checkable in each app’s own listing, and where we could not check something the row says that instead of guessing.

In short

8 apps compared on nine checkable columns
4 things to look for if your problem is the freezer
Sep 8, 2026 the day every fact below was checked

No prices here: Apple sets them per country, so the listing is the only current source.

Milkloft does this for you The iPhone app for your stored breast milk. One purchase, no account.

How we chose what to compare

  • Platform: iPhone only, or iPhone and Android, because a partner’s phone often decides it.
  • Pricing model as the listing words it: free, one purchase, or subscription entries. Never an amount, because Apple sets those per country.
  • Inventory by place: whether stored milk is counted per fridge, freezer or relative’s house, not just as one total.
  • Use-first order: whether the app says which bag comes next rather than leaving you to read dates through frost.
  • A named guideline: whether an expiration date says which body published it, and whether you can change the source.
  • Return-to-work plan: whether it projects your stash against a return date, rather than only counting what you have today.
  • Offline and no account: whether it works with no signal and without handing your records to a server.
  • Export: whether you can take your own data out, and in what format.
  • Spanish: whether the listing offers it, from the listing’s own Languages field.

The apps at a glance

App PlatformPricing modelInventory by placeUse-first orderGuideline namedReturn-to-work planOffline, no accountExportSpanish
DairyBar iPhone, iPad, Mac, AndroidFree, in-app purchases: subscriptions and a lifetime entryYes, up to 10 placesNot stated in the listingLa Leche League (developer’s site)Not stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNo (listing: English)
Dalo Milk Stash iPhone, Watch, AndroidFree, in-app purchases: monthly and yearly subscriptionsYesYes, first in first outNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingYes
Huckleberry iPhone, iPad, Watch, AndroidFree, in-app purchases: Plus and Premium tiersNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNo (listing: English)
Medela Family iPhone, Watch, Mac, AndroidFree, no in-app purchases listedA milk store; by place not statedNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingYes, as a checklistNo: an account is requiredYes, format not statedYes
Milk Stash iPhone, iPad, MacFree, in-app purchases including a one-time packYes, named places with thresholdsYes, first in first outNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingYes, stated on the listingYes: CSV, PDF, JSONNo (listing: English and French)
Milkloft (ours) iPhoneFree tier, then one purchase, no subscriptionYes, 5 free and unlimited with ProYes: thawed, fridge, oldest frozenYes: CDC, ABM or NHS, selectableYes: verdict free, plan with ProYes, bothYes: CSV and JSON, freeYes
ParentLove iPhone, Mac, AndroidFree, in-app purchases; site says one-time feeYes (developer’s site)Yes (developer’s site)Not attributed on the developer’s siteNot stated in the listingOffline yes; no-account not statedYes: CSVNo (listing: English)
Pump Log iPhone, WatchFree, in-app purchases: two upgradesNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNot stated in the listingNo (listing: English)

Alphabetical, not ranked: an order would be our opinion, and this table is meant to be facts. Checked on September 8, 2026.

DairyBar

Platform: iPhone, iPad, Mac and Android. Pricing model: Free with in-app purchases. The listing shows six-month and twelve-month subscription entries alongside a lifetime one.

A mother who wants her stored milk counted by place, including a cooler and a deep freeze.

Does well: Keeps an inventory across up to ten storage places and projects how long the stash lasts at the baby’s daily intake. Limit: Its expiration dates are described on the developer’s site as following La Leche League, and the listing’s purchases include recurring subscriptions.

App Store listing · Developer's site

Dalo Milk Stash

Platform: iPhone, Apple Watch and Android. Pricing model: Free with in-app purchases. The listing shows monthly and yearly subscription entries and a bundle.

A mother who wants the stash organised by place and rotated oldest first, in English, French or Spanish.

Does well: Names the first-in-first-out order and organises milk by where it is kept, including a relative’s freezer. Limit: The purchases on the listing are subscriptions, and neither the listing nor the site names the guideline behind its expiry alerts.

App Store listing · Developer's site

Huckleberry

Platform: iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android. Pricing model: Free with in-app purchases. The listing shows Plus and Premium entries; the billing period is not visible on it.

A family that wants one app for sleep, feeds, diapers and pumping rather than one for the freezer.

Does well: Logs the whole day in one place and predicts nap and sleep timing. Limit: The listing does not describe an inventory of stored milk by place, a use-first order or expiration dates.

App Store listing · Developer's site

Medela Family

Platform: iPhone, Apple Watch, Mac and Android. Pricing model: Free. The listing shows no in-app purchases.

A mother who wants a free app from her pump’s manufacturer, in one of fourteen languages.

Does well: Adds pumped milk to a virtual milk store after a session, and includes checklists for returning to work. Limit: An account is required, and the developer states that data is stored on its own servers and cloud providers.

App Store listing · Developer's site

Milk Stash

Platform: iPhone, iPad and Mac. Pricing model: Free with in-app purchases. The description names a one-time daycare pack.

A mother who wants the freezer list kept on the phone, with nothing sent anywhere.

Does well: States on its listing that everything is stored on the device, with no account and no server, and exports CSV, PDF and versioned JSON. Limit: The listing lists English and French only, and it does not name the guideline behind its use-by dates.

App Store listing

Milkloft (ours)

Platform: iPhone. Pricing model: A free tier with twenty active bags and five places, and one Pro purchase with no subscription. The App Store shows the amount.

A mother whose question is the freezer: what she has, which bag is next, when each one reaches its estimated limit, and whether she is covered for going back to work.

Does well: Lets you pick CDC, ABM or NHS as the source, shows the row that produced every estimated date, and gives the return-to-work verdict on the free tier. Limit: It is iPhone only, it is not on the App Store yet, and it does not time your pumping sessions or talk to your pump.

Developer's site

ParentLove

Platform: iPhone, Mac and Android. Pricing model: Free with in-app purchases. The developer’s site states a one-time fee and no subscriptions.

A family that wants a full baby tracker whose milk section understands the freezer.

Does well: Describes first-in-first-out rotation and a milk bank aware of freezer and deep freezer, and offers CSV export. Limit: Those milk-bank details appear on the developer’s site rather than the App Store listing, and the storage reference on that site does not name a guideline body such as the CDC, the ABM or the NHS.

App Store listing · Developer's site

Pump Log

Platform: iPhone and Apple Watch. Pricing model: Free with in-app purchases. The listing shows two upgrade entries.

An exclusively pumping mother whose question is the session: how long, how much, how the trend is going.

Does well: Logs pumping sessions with a timer, reminders and statistics over time. Limit: The listing does not describe an inventory of stored milk by place, a use-first order or expiration dates.

App Store listing · Developer's site

If you only remember one thing

If your problem is the freezer rather than the pumping session, four things decide it: an inventory by place, a use-first order, an expiration date that names the guideline behind it, and an export you can walk away with. Most apps on this list do one or two of the four, and almost none names its guideline.

How to read a listing yourself

Everything in the table came from two places, and you can reach both in a minute. On an app’s App Store page, the In-App Purchases list tells you the pricing model, and the Languages field tells you whether it speaks Spanish. The description tells you what the developer thinks the app is for, which is usually an honest signal of what it does best.

What a listing rarely tells you is where the storage times come from. That is the question we care most about, because a date with no guideline behind it is a number someone chose. If an app tells you milk lasts a given time, it is fair to ask which body published that, and to expect an answer.

Tell us when this goes out of date

Apps change, listings change, and this page is a snapshot with a date on it. If a row is wrong today, write to us and we will check the listing and update the page, including the rows that make us look better.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best app to track frozen breast milk?

It depends on which half of the problem you have. If the question is the session, an app built around the pump is the better fit. If the question is the freezer, look for four things: an inventory by place, a use-first order, an expiration date that names the guideline it came from, and an export you can take with you.

Is there a free breast milk tracking app?

Most of these are free to download with in-app purchases; Medela Family lists none at all. Milkloft has a free tier with twenty active bags and five places, and its Pro is a single purchase rather than a subscription.

Which breast milk apps work without an account?

Milk Stash states on its listing that everything stays on the device with no account and no server, and Milkloft works the same way. Medela Family requires an account. The other listings we checked do not say either way.

Which of these apps are available in Spanish?

On the listings we checked on September 8, 2026: Dalo Milk Stash, Medela Family and Milkloft. Milk Stash lists English and French; the rest list English only.

Do any of them cite the CDC, the ABM or the NHS for expiration dates?

None of the listings we read names them. DairyBar’s site points at La Leche League and ParentLove’s site gives a storage reference without naming the body that published it. Milkloft, which we make, lets you choose between the CDC, ABM Protocol #8 and the NHS, and shows the row behind each estimated date.

Is Milkloft on the App Store?

Not yet. It is coming to iPhone and there is a waiting list on this page. That is why our own row says so rather than linking to a listing.

Keep reading

Facts about other apps checked on September 8, 2026 in the App Store listing and the developer's own site. Something changed? Tell us: [email protected] App names are trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify them.

Milkloft Breast milk stash app · No account Notify me